$149.00$229.00

addonsPriceQuantity
LIVE$149.00
RECORDED$159.00
E - Transcript$159.00
LIVE + RECORDED$179.00
RECORDED + E-TRANSCRIPT$179.00
LIVE + E - TRANSCRIPT$179.00
LIVE + RECORDED + E-TRANSCRIPT$229.00
DOWNLOAD COURSE$199.00

Description


LIVE ONLINE TRAINING COURSE

       1.5 CEUs HRCI |  1.5 PDCs SHRM APPROVED


It has been said that California has a style all its own. This is especially true in the area of employment law. With arguably the greatest amount of wages and hour laws on the books of any state, processing payroll and keeping in compliance with California requirements can be a complex situation. Issues involving overtime, mandatory sick leave, split shifts, call-backs, meals and meal periods, donning and doffing, travel time, local minimum wage and countless other potential snares and pitfalls await the unwary employer! Add in the changes made for 2018 and you can find yourself in a compliance nightmare. If the payroll department fails to comply or commits the tiniest infraction, serious penalties can and do occur.

But even California can sometimes follow the federal rules. This is especially true when it comes to the actual math needed to calculate overtime including the definition of the regular rate of pay, workweek and workday. California is, however, a sovereign state so it also has its own requirements for areas of wage and hour law that the federal does not address including paycheck stub requirements and posting regulations.  And don’t forget the anti-theft wage law passed in the state. So the payroll professional processing payroll in California must be familiar with both the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the California Labor law and know when which one takes priority. With all these different factors to contend with when processing California payrolls the department must be very diligent for if it fails to comply or commits the tiniest infraction, serious penalties can and do occur.

SESSION HIGHLIGHTS:

  • Minimum Wage: New rates for 2022 and beyond for both state and locals
  • Wage orders: How to determine which of the 17 wages orders applies to your company
  • Overtime: CA has daily and weekly overtime and daily and weekly double time. Learn how to determine when it’s straight time, overtime or double time.
  • Alternative workweeks: Are your employees eligible to have alternative workweeks and are employers required to offer them?
  • New overtime rules for agricultural workers
  • How do credits for meals and lodging or tips affect the current minimum wage for the state?
  • On-call pay: Does CA require it for all employees all the time?
  • Reporting or show up pay: Does the employer owe wages to any employee for just showing up to work, even if there is no work to be performed?
  • Split shifts: Is there a monetary requirement to pay the employee extra if they work a split shift?
  • Rules for compensating piece workers.
  • What are the requirements for posters and payday notices?
  • What must be included in the employee’s paystub and what must be excluded?
  • What notices are required to be given to employees upon hire or if they are laid off or terminated. What if they go on leave of absence?
  • How often must employees be paid in CA? Does it apply to all categories of employees?
  • What methods are permitted to pay employees? Are there rules for direct deposit? Can employees be paid by payroll debit card?
  • What are the rules for paying out the final paycheck if an employee is terminated? Are they same if the employee quits? How does either one affect the vacation time left on the books?
  • Are meal and rest periods required or left up to the employer’s policies? If required what are the penalties if the employee does not receive his or her meal or rest period?
  • Record keeping requirements include required time card punches
  • Permissible deductions from pay.
  • Mandatory Sick Leave Law
  • Local minimum wage and creditor garnishments—how to determine disposable pay?

Why You Should Attend:

This webinar discusses the wage and hour requirements that govern payroll compliance in the State of California.

Who Should Attend:

  • Payroll Executives/Managers/Administrators/Professionals/Practitioners/Entry Level Personnel
  • Human Resources Executives/Managers/Administrators
  • Accounting Personnel
  • Business Owners/Executive Officers/Operations and Departmental Managers
  • Lawmakers
  • Attorneys/Legal Professionals
  • Any individual or entity that must deal with the complexities and requirements of Wage and Hour law compliance in the State of California

During the Q&A session following the live event, ask a question, and get a direct response from our expert speaker.

Note: You will get access to the Recording link and E-Transcript; in your account and at your registered email address, in the next 2 -3 days once the webinar is accomplished.

Course Ministry is recognized by SHRM to offer Professional Development Credits (PDCs) for SHRM-CP® or SHRM-SCP® recertification activities.

“HR Certification Institute’s® (https://www.hrci.org) official seal confirms that Course Ministry meets the criteria for pre-approved recertification credit(s) for any of HRCI’s eight credentials, including SPHR® and PHR®.”

Vicki M. Lambert, CPP, is President and Academic Director of The Payroll Advisor™, a firm specializing in payroll education and training. The company’s website www.thepayrolladvisor.com offers a payroll news service which keeps payroll professionals up-to-date on the latest rules and regulations.